Termite tube

  • By Jim Ellis
  • 07 Jun, 2017

Termite tube found in the garage in Pensacola, fL

At the beginning of this home inspection done in Pensacola, FL a few days ago I ran across this tube used and made by termites. I did not disturb it and left it for the termite inspector that was scheduled to be there the next day.  I'm not sure what kind of termites they are or if it's even active. There is no way to tell how much, if any damage has occurred inside the wall without removing some of the drywall

Jim's Home Inspection Blog

By Jim Ellis 14 Aug, 2017
I used this drone to get some Ariel shots of the roof for a Florida Wind Mitigation report. It worked really nicely. No climbing up on 3rd floor roofs for me!
By Jim Ellis 31 Jul, 2017
I was inspecting a new home in this particular subdivision when I drove around the corner I got a big surprise. Not as big as the builders got later! For an unknown reason some of the roof truss' fell over. Several of them were damaged and I'm really glad that no one was in the portable toilet as it got knocked over too.
By Jim Ellis 13 Jul, 2017
This sprinkler pump has bearings that are going bad. They will get louder until a neighbor complains then someone will need to spend some $$$ to get it repaired or replaced
By Jim Ellis 07 Jul, 2017
Part of home maintenance here in the south is to get ready for hurricane season. We never know when the next one will hit. We can help be better prepared by trimming trees off and away from our homes. Most of our local power companies are busy trimming limbs back from the power lines. We should take their advise. Falling trees are a huge part of damage concerns here. This video shows a Magnolia tree in need of some help before it causes more damage to the roof and beyond.
They grow 40 to 80 feet tall with a spread of 30 to 40 feet, that is HUGE!
By Jim Ellis 19 Jun, 2017
During a home inspection in Foley, AL I ran across this big guy. This spider was close to 5 inches long. It is my understanding most spiders are venomous to some degree. This "Banana Spider" is low on the totem pole for being a threat to humans, however I do my best not bother them much just in case.

By Jim Ellis 07 Jun, 2017
At the beginning of this home inspection done in Pensacola, FL a few days ago I ran across this tube used and made by termites. I did not disturb it and left it for the termite inspector that was scheduled to be there the next day.  I'm not sure what kind of termites they are or if it's even active. There is no way to tell how much, if any damage has occurred inside the wall without removing some of the drywall
By Jim Ellis 03 Jun, 2017
Check out this video of services we perform for you while looking under your home in the crawlspace
By Jim Ellis 01 Jun, 2017
So many times during a home inspection we find the pull down attic stairs not installed properly. This topic is the use of screws vs 16d nails as required.  Most screws are not designed for sheer strength and can break without any notice leaving you on the floor or hanging above it.
Below is part of a sample installation instruction sheet:
PERMANENT MOUNTING OF STAIRWAY  B. Nail the sides (jambs) of the stairway frame to the rough opening frame, using 16d nails or 3" lag screws. Holes are provided in the pivot plates and piano hinge brackets. Also nail through the end boards into the rough opening headers. Complete permanent installation by using 16d nails or 3" lag screws to secure stairway frame on all four sides of the rough opening
By Jim Ellis 01 Jun, 2017
Hold onto your hats, when the ceiling fan hits you in the head it will hurt! Chances are no major injuries will happen. Technically the fans are not supposed to be mounted below 7 feet from the floor. I usually find these low fans on room additions such as porches
By Jim Ellis 30 May, 2017
NADRA.org has a compilation of Inspectors, deck builders, service providers, distributors and retailers that work together promoting the safe standards of deck building and maintenance.  
When their deck inspections are done, they don't care what the building code was being used when built. They only care that the deck is safe today and tomorrow.
It takes just moments to locate all kinds for horror stories on the internet. Remember you can always find what your looking for and scary stuff sells! NADRA has a sample check list most home owners can download to use or you can call the office and we can set up a deck safety check from one of our home inspectors.
If you have a deck or perhaps your thinking about building one, check out their website for a full list of articles, news and information
More Posts
Share by: