top of page
Fortified Home logo


FORTIFIED Home™ is a set of engineering and building standards designed to help strengthen new and existing homes through system-specific building upgrades to minimum building code requirements, reducing damage from specific natural hazards. The FORTIFIED Home™ program has three levels of designation—Bronze, Silver and Gold—that build upon each other, allowing you to choose the desired level of protection that best suits your budgets and resilience goals.

You could be Safer and Save money!


There are mandated insurance discounts in many coastal states, including Alabama and Mississippi, for homes that have achieved a FORTIFIED designation.

Save up to 25% a year on your wind insurance premiums over the life of your roof, which is typically 15 years.

Home ready to be Fortified
Some items needed to become Fortified

Getting the roof right is a BIG deal

Check out this video from 

IBHS (Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety )


For even more information, visit the IBHS Fortified website

Click here for

Summary Level of Bronze Protection

The Bronze designation is the lowest hurricane-resistance designation a home can achieve. There

are two options to consider when retrofitting a home to achieve the Bronze FEH designation. One option involves replacing the roof covering, while the other option does not.

When the roof covering will not be replaced, the retrofits for a Bronze designation are required to

  • Strengthen the anchorage of the gable end walls

  • Secure soffits and protect roof vents

  • Secure roof sheathing by using SPF adhesive on the underside of the roof sheathing

  • Wind Retrofit Guide for Residential Buildings A-1 


When the roof covering will be replaced, the retrofits for a Bronze designation are required to

  • Secure roof sheathing through the addition of fasteners in accordance with a designated schedule

  • Install a secondary underlayment

  • Strengthen the anchorage of gable end walls

  • Secure soffits and protect roof vents

  • Install a new roof covering 

General home view
General home view

Summary of Silver Level Protection

The Silver designation is the second level in the FEH designations. To achieve the Silver designation, the home must meet the requirements of the Bronze designation in addition to the retrofits specific to the Silver designation.

Retrofits required to achieve a Silver designation include

  • Protect building openings (windows, entry doors, and garage doors) from wind-borne debris

  • Further strengthen gable ends

  • Strengthen the anchorage of attached structures such as porches and carports

The Silver designation provides a higher level of protection against wind damage than the Bronze

designation, and consequently has a higher project cost. However, the Silver designation should provide a greater reduction in insurance premiums than a Bronze designation.

Summary of Gold Level Protection

The Gold designation is the highest level that can be achieved in the FEH program. To achieve the

Gold designation, homes must first meet both the Bronze and Silver requirements, as well as the

additional retrofit requirements specific to the Gold designation.


Retrofits required to achieve a Gold designation include

  • Develop a continuous load path

  • Protect building openings from windborne debris and wind pressure


A Gold designation requires a more invasive inspection and has a greater project cost. However, the Gold designation also provides the most significant reduction in insurance premiums and highest level of protection of all designations within the FEH program.

Prescriptive solutions to develop a continuous load path for simple building shapes and types of

construction are provided in the FEH manual to meet the continuous load path requirement of the

Gold designation. FEH does not require that a professional engineer be consulted to achieve the

Gold designation if a prescriptive solution can be used.

Fortified gold
bottom of page